The soundtrack of our lives: Experimenting

For this project, the task was to create a poster series, minimum of 3 posters (A2 size), pick three tracks and illustrates and represent the essence of how music that we listen to makes us feel. I was thrilled to do this project because it was something that I have not done before and I was really looking forward to explore my own creativity within this project.

Music is powerful. It can make us feel like we’re on top of the world, but at the same time it could also make us feel like the world is falling apart. To me, music makes me happy, emotional and expressive. I am the type of person who will listen to everything, and I mean EVERYTHING. I will listen to any genres of music with no judgement but just curiosity. I remembered when I was 12 years old, my friend dragged me to a hardcore rock concert and I lied to my parents that I was going to a classical type of concert. Needless to say, it wasn’t glorious and triumphant as I thought it would be. the concert was mental because not only I was too young to probably experienced a mosh pit, I was bloody scared and thought I was going to die. I went from a Taylor Swift fan girl to Linkin Park, My chemical romance, Nickelback, Fall out boy real quick. But despite my fears, it was an experience that will never forget. So yes, music is also like a time travel, our mind just filled with memories when we hear a certain songs.

Because I literally listen to everything, so in the beginning of starting out brainstorming my ideas, I found myself struggling because I don’t know what songs to choose. I looked through all the songs on my spottily list, and I just randomly picked out songs and started to draw how the sounds makes me feel. I did a little experiments of how the sounds that we hear creates patterns and I chosen three songs that are completely in different genres and experiments with listening to the sound and creating patterns through how relax, hard, soft, up beat the tones is of each songs and the results is really interesting.

 

I know, I know, this look like a three years old kid did these but unfortunately I did them (with a blind fold). This is because I wanted to just draw what comes up on my and just illustrates that informations on the papers. I didn’t want to focus too much on how the poster is going to look because at this point I was only just experimenting. I continued to listened to more songs but approach the designs more differently from my initial experiments. Here, I have illustrated an image that is somewhat, story telling.

13149872_10206408633881364_555494052_n13149986_10206408635601407_938136602_n

 

Leave a Reply

